Attempting to be 'Faithful Meg'

Contemplation on life, faith, ministry, and motherhood; Knowing I don't always get it right

Drawing Nearer To The Holy February 27, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — faithfulmeg @ 3:43 am

So, while there are so many series ideas I have, as I have brought this blog back to life in the midst of the Lenten season, I thought it would be wise to start by writing on personal care and Sabbath.  

Especially for those in serving ministry, we are so filled with passion to serve that we often neglect our own care.  We feel guilty at even the thought of taking time for ourselves to refuel our hearts, our bodies, and our souls.  It catches up with us- sometimes in awkward and unexpected ways.  A blessing for me as a seminary student is that in our contextual education process, we are required to have Sabbath practices set up as part of our logged hours.  My two practices are attending worship someplace where I am involved either minimally or not at all in the leadership of the service.  The other is participating in a Yoga class at the town civic center.  (Perhaps a post about practicing yoga through a Christian lens will come another time)  With the combination of sketchy winter weather, and the President’s Week holiday class schedule, I may have had some extra time off, but things in my life that are nourishing to me were absent over that week.  That also includes spending time with my community of seminary classmates.

 An accidental conversation with a friend allowed me to see a clear example how my attitude is impacted when I am not taking time to be fed.  I had been texting both my husband, and a friend throughout the afternoon, and had another upsetting conversation about a frustrating conversation.  A text intended for my husband ended up getting sent to my friend accidentally.  It revealed my less than Christlike attitude about the person I had the frustrating conversation with.  Seeing those words through my friend’s eyes helped me reflect on what was going on in my heart.  That night at yoga, the focus of the week was on the focus of how flexibility in our physical lives help us be flexible in challenging emotional situations.  Our bodies are important and so when we think of self care and Sabbath- it’s important that we consider nourishing our whole selves made in the image of our Creator!  Following class I was able to go our for dinner with my husband.  There was an appropriate drink on the menu called the “attitude adjuster”.  I got a good chuckle about that! 

I have been working on the Rethink Church Lenten reflection through photography- here’s the start of the journey I’ve made so far- more to come!  

Image

 

2 Responses to “Drawing Nearer To The Holy”

  1. Are you new to yoga? It’s something I often think about doing to bless my own body but I need a class for beginners who are pathetically out of shape.

    • faithfulmeg Says:

      Sorry it took so long to get this comment up and reply! I’ve been dabbling with Yoga on and off since high school, but I think it’s been the combination of insights from classmates at BU, and the new class I am in in Norwood that has got me really appreciating it at a new level. I know a lot of people for whom walking is part of their Sabbath practices too. I’ve just really recognized the importance of a broad approach to personal self care/soul care!


Leave a Reply

